Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

We have to tell the kids we are moving - any good suggestions?

Nov 25th, 2005, 05:43 PM
Original Poster

We are being relocated in the new year and we have to tell the kids shortly. This is our second move (3 yrs ago) and I am so worried about the effect this is going to have on my 8 yr old boy. We have 3 kids - 8 and 5 yr old boys and 20 month girl. Any experiences that you could share would be helpful.
Thanks!
Nov 25th, 2005, 06:14 PM

Kids are very resilient and adaptable. Treat it as exciting and they will, too. My dad was a career officer in the Army and we moved... OFTEN. I went to over twenty different schools between elementary and high schools. I am here to tell you it was a great life and made me the travel adventurer I am today. If you fear the move,they will. If you embrace the change and the adventure they will. Best wishes.
Nov 25th, 2005, 06:28 PM

I work as a counselor at an elementary school and the children usually handle the move much better than the parents expect. It would be great if they could visit their new school before they go. Also try joinging scouts or community groups to make it easier to make new friends. Children will take things in stride if you do.
Nov 25th, 2005, 06:41 PM
Original Poster

Thanks for the encouragement and great advice. We will probably have to move them to the new school in March or April, which, unfortunately is not ideal. I would have liked a January or September start. My eldest son has never liked change, which makes the process much more difficult.
Nov 25th, 2005, 07:07 PM