Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Water Shoes (?) while snorkeling? (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/water-shoes-while-snorkeling-621276/)

OlgaM Jun 6th, 2006 06:23 AM

Water Shoes (?) while snorkeling?

I'm a newbie to snorkeling; actually haven't done it yet, but plan to in Hawaii this August. (Must admit that I'm in adult swim lessons now due to the Hawaii trip !- the lessons 40 years ago aren't cutting it !)

So, when I get to Hanauma Bay or another beach, do I take off my sneakers and put on some kind of water sock which the fins go over. I've read about "tabis" on this forum, but I can't find anything on line that looks right.

Can I snorkel with just plain old water shoes? I did look for them on line, and there are a zillion kind, including ones that look like sneakers.

I'll also be taking a catamaran tour on the NaPali coast and perhaps kayaking on the river in Kauai.

So, wondering also if I need two different types of "water shoes".

I really appreciate any information you can give to this novice.

Olga

yale Jun 6th, 2006 06:28 AM

I've always snorkeled with just the fins.

tpatricco Jun 6th, 2006 06:37 AM

Generally you can snorkle with just the fins on as yale mentioned. I do the same. You can get flippers that are larger than your shoe size to accomodate wearing water shoes on your feet with the fins over the top. You don't gain anything by doing this except maybe a little comfort if the water is rocky where you're putting in.

escargot Jun 6th, 2006 06:47 AM