Vegas: Hotel queues and check-in strategies

Oct 16th, 2003, 11:09 PM
Original Poster

Vegas: Hotel queues and check-in strategies

This is my first time in Las Vegas and I heard that queues in many Las Vegas hotels can be long. I also heard that if you check in earlier at the hotel you may get a better room, especially if there are 'room upgrade' deals but only while these rooms are available. Could someone comment please?
Oct 17th, 2003, 02:22 AM

I would be interested in this too. We were at the Luxor in July and we loved it...I was just blown away by the length of time we had to wait in line for our room.

Then, we thought we would try for the whole "we are celebrating our 10th anniversary" thing and the very busy clerk responded "we will be happy to upgrade you for $100!" LOL. We still laugh about us trying to be smooth travelers....
Oct 17th, 2003, 02:47 AM

It probably depends a bit on the hotel.

I was amazed last New Year when I was at the Luxor. I went to the check-in desks nearest to the entrance by the Sphinx and the crowds were huge. Each desk had at least twenty people in each queue. I remembered the other desks by the side entrance, went there and walked straight to a free check-in clerk.

I went back to the other check-in area on the way to my room and told a few people they could easily avoid these long queues. The reaction I seemed to get from most people were that I was mad suggesting people walk a hundred yards or so with all their bags. There's just no helping some people!
Oct 17th, 2003, 02:58 AM

Have you thought of using the hotel checkin facililies at the airport baggage area? Worked a treat with the LV Hilton.
Oct 17th, 2003, 07:06 AM

Park Place properties offer airport checkin, I think NYNY might also. That's about your only bet to avoid a line other than luck and timing.