Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Things you left behind/or should have (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/things-you-left-behind-or-should-have-385970/)

jewels_02 Jun 28th, 2008 09:21 AM

Things you left behind/or should have

I'm planning a trip in August, it's my first time flying. Does anyone ever recall something they decided not to take on a trip and wound up regreting not having it? Or, what about the reverse, did you ever pack something that turned out as useless? Just wondering what others experiences are on this to get a better grip on what to include on my packing list or that I should remove all together.

suze Jun 28th, 2008 09:50 AM

Sure, most of the things I think to toss in at the end of packing "just in case" have been mistakes or not needed.

About the only thing I've regreted not packing a few trips is a small travel umbrella.

If you wanted to post your list of the things you're wondering if they are necessary, it's be easier for us to answer your question :-)

Also it depends where you are travelling to. Are there stores that you can easily pick up a forgotten item (flash light, corkscrew, earplugs, suntan lotion, whatever) OR do you need to be self-contained in what you pack?

joebear Jun 28th, 2008 09:52 AM

A warmer jacket....
That was oversight on my part, I assumed it was not windy which made it much colder than the temp I checked before departure...

First time flying, it goes by quickly...I carry on a light jacket sometimes the temp varies...more room in suitcase. I bring a large purse type bag and stuff my actual travel purse in it so it qualifies as only one carryon...Take some snacks should your flight be delayed along the way....NO liquids of course.

CAPH52 Jun 28th, 2008 09:55 AM