The Great RV/USA Adventure - whaddyareckon??

Feb 13th, 2010, 10:03 PM
Original Poster

The Great RV/USA Adventure - whaddyareckon??

Hi all,

I am a relative newbie to this forum - I'm been lurking on the Japan forum for a while now but having completed that trip I am now planning the great RV/USA adventure for the family (2 adults, 2 kids ages 10 and 8) mid-September to early October. Having already done stacks of research, I would love some input into this itinerary - particularly the last few days.

We have already booked flights flying into and out of LA as they were on special and the times were good with the kids.

This is the rough outline:

Day 1 - arrive LA 12.15pm, rent a car, stay Hollywood (?VRBO apartment/house)

Day 2 - explore Hollywood region, see sign, Griffith Observatory etc

Day 3 - Beaches - Venice Beach, Santa Monica Pier

Day 4 - Disneyland

Day 5 - Coast road drive through to Cambria

Day 6 - Hearst Castle, drive to Monterey, see Aquarium

Day 7 - drive to San Francisco, stay Nob Hill or Alamo in VRBO

Day 8 - keep car for this day - day trip to Sonoma or Napa Valley

Day 9 - no car, explore San Fran

Day 10 - San Fran

Day 11 - pick up RV and head to Yosemite

Day 12 - Yosemite

Day 13 - Yosemite

Day 14 - drive over Tioga Pass to Lone Pine

Day 15 - Lone Pine to Death Valley

Day 16 - Death Valley to Las Vegas

Day 17 - Las Vegas

Day 18 - drop off RV, get "remarried" by Elvis, splurge with a night at the Bellagio

Day 19 - pick up hire car, drive to Grand Canyon

Day 20 - Grand Canyon

Day 21 - here is where I start getting stuck - could we feasibly drive to Monument Valley to stay overnight in a Navajo hogan, and then on Day 22 - drive back to Flagstaff, drop car, catch plane to LA in time for flight home (9.30pm?)

Or, should we abandon Monument Valley and add another night somewhere else, returning the car back to Las Vegas to get the flight home?