Tell me about online photo albums...

Jan 1st, 2009, 05:08 AM
Original Poster

Tell me about online photo albums...

I am very new to digital photography and my learning curve is slow because I don't have a lot of free time and I don't have anyone in the household to help me.

Now that I have my first batch of digital pix of my recent vacation, I would love to start a digital album but I don't know where to begin. Which websites are available, helpful and free? Which websites do Fodor's folks find user friendly?I want to be able to post my pix and place text with them for now....I'm sure as I go along, I'll have more requests!!
Thanks in advance!!
Jan 1st, 2009, 05:12 AM

For a site that's free, simple, intuitive, but lets you set up separate "albums" with captions for easy sharing, I like http://www.kodakgallery.com/
Jan 1st, 2009, 05:28 AM

I really like Picasa Web http://picasa.google.com/features.html.
Jan 1st, 2009, 05:33 AM
J62

I've used several, including Kodak and Picassa. In the end I've settled on snapfish.com. The primary reason is that they have great prices on prints and often run 9c or 10c specials. They also have very easy uploads - 100+ pix at a time.

It may not be as convenient as others for organizing or sharing (it's pretty good tho), but the last thing I want to do is maintain multiple sites so I've stuck with it.
Jan 1st, 2009, 05:57 AM

I like shutterfly.com. The pictures I've ordered have been excellent quality. I created a photo book and it was so unbelievably easy, and I'm a little technology challenged myself. I've also seen wonderful creations friends have made on snapfish.com

I have used Kodak.com but you can't share on Fodors or other websites unless the viewer is a register user. It's easy to share on shutterfly. I'm not sure about snapfish but I think it's good for sharing as well.
Jan 1st, 2009, 06:10 AM

I use Shutterfly and am very happy with them. I also order my pics from them. They're very good quality and come quickly.