Steamboat CO and Vista Verde Ranch February 2010

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 9th, 2010, 09:46 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Here I am, writing my annual trip report of skiing Steamboat, followed by a short stay at Vista Verde Ranch in Clark CO. It doesn’t seem that long ago that I took my first trip to Steamboat, and now it’s 3 years later and my 4th trip. I remember the uncertainty of my first trip—would I like Steamboat? Would I enjoy a winter ranch vacation? Judging from the fact that I keep returning to both locations, I would say the answer to both of those questions is a resounding yes! On my first trip in 2007, I was a relatively new skier and had never skied out West before. I studied all the websites and literature from each resort in Colorado, Utah and Montana, before choosing Steamboat. There are so many places I’d still like to ski and I’m sure are fabulous as well, but Steamboat keeps drawing me back with it’s friendly locals, “real town” atmosphere, mountain which offers plenty of terrain as I progress, and the distance from major city airports like Denver, which keeps the crowds down. Also, I still like taking ski lessons and I found an instructor I like to ski with during my first season there, and I’ve been able to ski with him each year since. Additionally, Steamboat is the only destination ski resort in close proximity to Vista Verde Ranch, so that helps seal the deal for me year after year. For me, the Steamboat Springs area has come to feel like a well worn pair of favorite jeans- comfortable, unpretentious and relaxed. Retuning to Steamboat is like returning home.

Day 1