Songdoc’s New (and Some Old) Kauai Faves

Old Feb 18th, 2012, 04:56 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Songdoc’s New (and Some Old) Kauai Faves

This was a one-month trip (Jan. 13 – Feb. 14). Being a writer, I have the luxury of being able to do much of my work anywhere I can take my laptop. I came to the Garden Isle initially to work at the Kauai Music Festival five years ago—and it instantly felt like I was home.

It’s the oddest phenomenon. I’ve been to many extraordinarily beautiful places (i.e., I visit New Zealand and Australia every year) but I’ve never had that sense of finding where I’m meant to be anywhere else in the world – or on any other Hawaiian island.

I’m trying to think of Kauai as a second home—not as a vacation. Maybe if I tell myself that enough … it’ll happen ;-) I’ve been spending a month each summer and a month each winter.

Those of you who have been reading my reports know that my wonderful DP (of eighteen years) obviously has a screw loose; he doesn’t love Kauai. He doesn’t like beaches, ocean, or warm, humid weather. To him, one beach is the same as another. (I know, it’s sick!) His idea of paradise involves cold, brisk mountain air … preferably in Northern Ireland; a far cry from Kauai! If this were not the case, we’d already be living here ;-). FYI, Nashville is about mid-way between Ireland and Kauai!

In what must surely be a miracle, I was able to use AA Frequent Flyer miles to snag first class flights from Nashville to Dallas; Dallas to L.A.; and L.A. to Lihue. The extra room made it comfy and easier to sleep.