Search

Snow in Raleigh, NC

Search this Thread

Old Jan 21st, 2005, 03:51 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Snow in Raleigh, NC

I just read this puzzling news. Raleigh, NC had major problems dealing with one (1) inch of snow. Why was this city not prepared? Any comments? 1 inch of snow? There were hundreads of accidents. How sad
Old Jan 21st, 2005, 04:34 AM
mlw

I was there, it took me 13 hours to travel what would have taken me 30 minutes. I have lived here 18 years and have never experienced anything like it! It was a combination of factors. Only a light dusting was predicted, so the city did not prepare the roads. It has been very cold here, so when the snow hit, it froze right away and became a sheet of ice. School was let out 2 hours early,and business'
closed early, dumping thousands of cars and busses on the roads at the same time.There were 1000 accidents reported (thankfully no fatatities), but crews could not get to the accident sites to clear them, nor could salt trucks get to areas. Every intersection was gridlocked. Everyone is looking to point fingers of blame, but I believe this was a rare phenomenon. This was not just a case of "those southerners don't know how to drive in snow". Most of the time we stay home when it snows, but this happened unexpectedly in the middle of the day, combined with a lot of other factors.
Old Jan 21st, 2005, 06:09 AM

Grumble grumble grumble.

This comes under the heading of an AP reporter from the north who either hasn't been here very long or who hasn't got much news to report -- and they just love to put stories about Southerners who just don't know how to deal with snow, as mlw. Cute cute cute.

It wasn't the snow. It was, as mlw says, the ice under it.