Snorkeling in Maui - I'm a BEGINNER

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 30th, 2002, 01:51 PM
Katie

Hi,
Going to Maui in December. I'm not a strong swimmer and I have never snorkeled before but sure would like to try. What snorkeling sites in Maui would you suggest for a beginner like me?
Thanks.

Old Jul 30th, 2002, 03:34 PM
JMM

In all honesty, I would NOT recommend Maui as a good place for a Beginner Snorkeler who is not a strong swimmer.
I am an experienced snorkeler and a fairly good swimmer and I got tossed by a giant wave near one of the area's recommended by many people for snorkeling (the resort area near Lahaina). The only 2 places in Hawaii that I can recommend for a beginning snorkeler who is not a good swimmer are both on Kaui -Lydegate Park and Anini Beach.

Old Jul 30th, 2002, 04:25 PM
e

Try Kapalua Bay beach. Very easy in and out and you can see lots of fish within 10 yds of shore. And as snorkeling spots go, its good. Good Luck !!

Old Jul 30th, 2002, 04:46 PM
m&m

I'm not a strong swimmer, but love to snorkel. Rent a snorkel vest when you get there. Looks dorky, but gives plenty of peace of mind.

I snorkeled in Maui both times we've been and had a great time.

Don't worry about what it looks like....chances are, you'll never see those people again. Just have a great time.

Old Jul 31st, 2002, 03:31 AM
mbln74a

Hi, I haven't done this on Maui, but I have done it on the Big Island..take a snorkel cruise that offers inner tubes or the vests...that way, you have someone watching you & helping if you need it. Sometimes they even offer glass viewing things if you don't do well with the snorkel. Plus they'll take you to a safe place, such as Molokini, away from waves, etc. I agree that Kapalua Bay is excellent in & out & a pretty good place to snorkel, and if you don't want to do the cruise, it would be my recommendation also. Also Makena Beach at Maui Prince, but you do have to swim out beyond the sound...lots of turtles there tho.