Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Single woman in Austin for 1 week - where to stay, eat, hear music?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 9th, 2001, 09:19 AM
Andrea

I'm a San Francisco resident, going to Austin for the first time, for a week in July. I've heard such great things about Austin (the music, friendly people, relatively affordable, etc.) that I'm going to check it out as a possible place to relocate to.
Since none of my friends/family can get away to go with me, I'm just going to go by myself. So I'm hoping someone can help me with a good, central place to stay (preferably near Colo. River walking/running trails?) And ideas on places to eat/hear music that I'd feel comfortable going to alone. I'm in my late '30s, and fairly outgoing (I've traveled to foreign countries by myself). So, considering how friendly everyone says Austin is, I'm guessing it should be (relatively) easy and fun to explore, even solo!

Thanks for any and all advice,

Andrea

Old Jul 9th, 2001, 09:28 AM
lisa

Andrea - I just topped my trip report from last summer for you -- lots of restaurant recommendations & other stuff. Have a great time -- I love Austin (although I'm wondering if you'll find its weather oppressively hot, especially compared to SF).

Old Jul 9th, 2001, 01:00 PM
Tina

Andrea - Please give us an update when you get back as to how the job market and living conditions are. Like you, I'm a single woman in my mid-30's. I've been told great things about Austin and have given some thought to looking into relocation there as well. Before I book my flight, I'd like to hear back from someone who's been there recently for the same purposes. Thanks! Have a great trip.

Old Jul 9th, 2001, 08:06 PM
sunshine