Notices

Should we go to Boston?

Old Apr 14th, 2008, 12:48 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Should we go to Boston?

we are coming to New York for Christmas this year from NZ. We have two boys age 10 and 12yrs. We have booked into the rand Hyatt on 42nd St from 25th till 29th ( the room rate goes crazy), then we thought of moving to the Hyatt at New Jersey and doing all the downtown activities from there, using the PATH train. The other option we thought of was to get the train to Boston. Would that be a good idea? If so, how much time would you allow in Boston. The Grand Hyatt gets cheap again on the 1st of Jan. We will get the train to DC on the 2nd. Any feedback appreicated. Regards Kate
Old Apr 14th, 2008, 01:04 AM

As a Boston resident, I vote for Boston. New Year's Eve in Boston is great - they were the first city to do a big First Night celebration with fireworks, arts activities for all ages, street performers. Also lots of ice sculptures - remember, it is winter here and can be quite cold.

"The room rate goes crazy" is going to be the case in Boston as well, however. You will find that in downtown of almost any city over New Year's Eve. Also, there will be availability and minimum stay issues. You could then fly to DC from Boston, if budget and timing allowed.

Either option, have a good time.
Old Apr 14th, 2008, 01:44 AM
Original Poster

Dear Gail, yes the 31st in Boston is expensive, however the 29tha nd 30th are cheap at the Hyatt in Boston. We are Boston Legal fans and my children love The Suite Life of Zac and Cody, unfortunately that is all we know about Boston. What would we do if we came, would one night be enough? cheers Kate
Old Apr 14th, 2008, 03:22 AM