Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Should we buy land or a home in Winter Park? (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/should-we-buy-land-or-a-home-in-winter-park-341118/)

teadrinker Apr 10th, 2008 06:58 PM

Should we buy land or a home in Winter Park?

Thinking of buying a second home in Winter Park, FLA, with the idea that perhaps in 5 years or so, we'll move there permanently. Not sure if we should look at land alone or homes... We'd like one on a pretty lake.. kind of cottage-y feel... shady, established neighborhood.. good deals. Prices seem high though.. especially now with all the press of going into a recession. Anyone with any ideas on how to pursue, let me know. I'm new at looking for propery or homes.. Not sure of the best lakes there... or what. Our kids are grown, so we don't have to worry about schools... I feel if we move from the North East where it's cold, the kids would most likely want to return "home" to FLA for a visit with their old folks than to return to a cold place like we're in now!

Orlando_Vic Apr 10th, 2008 07:09 PM

I live right next to Winter Park. While property values have declined some, they generally do well over time and should rebound in five years. As you probably know, this is a very desirable area. I have a friend who is a real estate broker. Let me know if you want her contact info.

Postal Apr 10th, 2008 07:13 PM

My first concern would be that most things in Winter Park are overpriced. I know it's a buyer's market right now, but during my 18 years in Orlando I saw many homes in nice Orlando neighborhoods that were many thousands below the same type of house in the same type of neighborhood in Winter Park. That's why prices seem high now.