Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Sea World in San Antonio - reviews please (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/sea-world-in-san-antonio-reviews-please-923186/)

FamilyRoadTrippers Feb 8th, 2012 12:06 PM

Sea World in San Antonio - reviews please
 
Is it worth the money? Is it in good condition? How does it compare to other sea worlds? Thanks.

jcb Feb 8th, 2012 03:27 PM

I think it is expensive, but that is a matter of opinion.

When would you be going? If it is during Texas school's spring break, there is no way in h##l I would go. Way too many people.

OO Feb 9th, 2012 04:47 AM

It is very nice. Huge! Well maintained. We've also been to the Olando Seaworld and the shows are the same. We take our grandchildren. 5 and 3 when we last went last, and the park is too big for them to handle all in a day. They loved their day though, and all the shows.

qwovadis Feb 9th, 2012 04:55 AM

went there after a convention about a year ago was the same as all the others I have been to. Cheaper than Disney parks not cheap there are discounts about check with hotels or tourist office.A great way to pass the day.

annalynn Feb 9th, 2012 09:14 AM

We love Sea World, and are season pass holders each year, going 4-5 times on average. Texas' spring breaks are in march, so you should have wonderful crowds in April. I've been to San Diego's SW as well - SA's is smaller, but its mostly the same as others, just with fewer attractions. The water park won't be open in April, I think - its being redone. But the shows are great to see, and its a nice, clean park. We find Fiesta Texas and Schlitterbahn to be fairly dirty, so I don't recommend them to people. But Sea World is a must.

Also... depending exactly when in April you will be in San Antonio, Fiesta might be going on. Its San Antonio's version of Mardi Gras. If you can arrange your dates to do any of the activities or NIOSA (Night in Old San Antonio), I heartily suggest you do so.

annalynn Feb 9th, 2012 09:16 AM

Forgot to add above, although its somewhat implied. Sea World is in excellent condition. They clean and update things wonderfully. Its not quite as wonderful as Disney in that sense, but its head and shoulders better than Fiesta Texas. Even my young kids have commented on how much dirtier Six Flags is than Sea World, which is telling IMO.

shelnscott Apr 8th, 2012 05:09 PM

We visited in March during the major spring break week for Texas and it was madness. My oldest (14) had a blast riding all of the roller coasters and getting soaked. My youngest (11) was kind of bored. She's afraid of roller coasters and felt the Sesame Street play area was way too young. She did enjoy the shows though. Buy your tickets online ahead of time and save at least $10 a ticket. We also bought our parking pass ahead of time and saved about the same. For my husband and oldest, I bought a front of the line pass for about $30 which is similar to a Disney fast pass and lets you go to the front of the line over and over again. It was so crowded when we went that the lines were all at least 1 hour long. The wait with the pass was less than 5 minutes so it is well worth it with the crowds.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:55 AM.