Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Santa Barbara Ramada Inn- Opinions (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/santa-barbara-ramada-inn-opinions-239565/)

jann Jul 14th, 2002 11:40 PM

Santa Barbara Ramada Inn- Opinions
 
Has anyone stayed here? What is your opinion?<BR>Can get a room for $110.00 a night, looks nice.<BR>What distance is it from the Beach? ANy views?<BR>Your opinions are appreciated<BR>Thanks Alot<BR>Jan

jim Jul 15th, 2002 10:26 AM

We stayed there in April. Across from the beach. Good value. Rooms are upscale Holiday Inn There are several better places to stay but they cost a lot more.

xxx Jul 15th, 2002 12:01 PM

ttt

joesorce Jul 15th, 2002 10:10 PM

What is the address? The Ramada that I know of in SB is nowhere near the beach, in fact it is on the northern outskirts of town near Goleta. <BR><BR>

jan Jul 16th, 2002 11:51 AM

Hi Joe,<BR>I also thought perhaps not very close to the beach. It looks pretty nice and affordable, seeing we are near the end of our trip. But I want to be near the town/city center I think.<BR>http://www.sbramada.com/reserve.html<BR>4770 Calle Real<BR>Thanks again for you never-ending help.<BR>Jan

jan Jul 16th, 2002 02:14 PM

ttt

joesorce Jul 16th, 2002 06:30 PM

Jan for your one and only night ever in beautiful Santa Barbara, I would not choose the Ramada. It is located on the outskirts of town, north of the action, near the freeway and a mall. If you just need a place to sleep it is fine, otherwise you should choose something nearer the beach or even downtown. <BR><BR>The other reply from someone who thought the Ramada was near the beach was probably thinking of the Days Inn. <BR><BR>Tropicana Inn 800 468 1988<BR>Colonial Beach Inn 800 649 2669<BR>Hotel Santa Barbara 888 259 7700<BR>Inn by The Harbor 800 626 1986<BR><BR>are all better choices in that price range (hopefully), although rates can be higher if you are staying on Fri and Sat. <BR><BR>Jan when you call California hotels, always haggle. Do not accept their first price quotes. Ask them if they have anything at a corporate rate or special package rate. For a corporate rate all you need is a business card and they probably won't even ask for THAT.

jbj Jul 17th, 2002 01:17 PM

I agree. HAGGLE! This is something that people who don't stay in hotels very often wouldn't know to do. Hotels with empty rooms want to fill them. A half price room is better than an empty room. See what you can work out. NEver settle for the first price that they quote you, ask if they have something more economical. I wish I could count the times that the hotel reservationist has then told me, "well we do have a promotional rate running on that same room, for $30 less".

jan Jul 18th, 2002 01:55 AM

Thanks joe & jbj<BR>Had a peek at the hotels you listed Joe they sound very nice. Will do my haggling in the next day or 2 will let you know how I make out. Re: haggling<BR>WOuld I have better results a month in advance or closer to actual date needed. Thanks a bunch<BR>jan

jbj Jul 18th, 2002 11:10 PM

If the hotel isn't filling up close to your arrival date, chances are you'll get a better rate. If I were you I'd negotiate the best rate that you can now, then call back in 3 weeks and check the going rate. If it's lower than what you booked, just make a new reservation and cancel the previous one. Also, I've noticed different reservationists quote different rates!


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:45 AM.