San Antonio-Riverwalk confusion!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 6th, 2004, 12:22 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My husband and I are coming from California to San Antonio and will spend about 3 days there. After San Antonio we'll be spending about 4 days in Austin (attending my niece's wedding and being tourists!).
We have never been to San Antonio before and I am just beginning my research.
I am trying to figure out where we want to stay. I keep hearing "Riverwalk". It sounds like there are lots of restaurants (but everyone says "don't eat there") but I have not heard of anything else to see on the Riverwalk. Its been confusing to me.
So, why do I want to stay on the Riverwalk if you "don't eat at any of the restaurants there-they are all too touristy."
The Emily Morgan sounds like a very nice hotel but the Drury seems to have more but is more expensive (it has a buffet breakfast and evening beverages). I think it is closer to the Riverwalk too.
Any information about the Riverwalk would be appreciated. And the hotels as well.
Thank you for your time!
Shadow
Old Apr 6th, 2004, 03:31 AM

Riverwalk is a lot of fun. There are stores, restaurants and hotels. It is near the Alamo. There is a small mall that enters into it. You should enjoy your visit there. It is an older (1930s) development that is actually below street level. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in San Antonio. Have fun.
Old Apr 6th, 2004, 04:40 AM

The Riverwalk IS San Antonio. If you stay anywhere else, you will just end up driving down to the Riverwalk area to shop and sightsee.
Old Apr 6th, 2004, 05:30 AM