Romantic things to do in Philly in January

Old Jan 7th, 2008, 02:48 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Romantic things to do in Philly in January

Hello, everyone.

This is my first time posting, so if I come across as a bit naive, bear with me (!).

I just booked a romantic getaway to Philadelphia with my wife of 14 years. We'll be staying at the Courtyard Downtown Marriott on 21 Juniper Street this month, over Martin Luther King Weekend. I don't know Philly well. The hotel is about 1/2 mile away from Independence Hall, the Sheraton Society Hill, etc. Do any of you have any suggestions about what I might plan to do with her over the weekend, of a romantic nature? Perhaps the women on this forum might have some suggestions of places to go or things to do?
Thanks in advance for any help!
Old Jan 7th, 2008, 06:30 PM

What do you like to do? Define romantic. I could certainly recommend some excellent restaurants. I'm particularily fond of the Continental in Old City, but I don't know if anyone but my husband and myself find it romantic.
Old Jan 7th, 2008, 07:16 PM

I lived in Philly for two years and yet, beyond romantic dinners, I'm stumped for a good answer. I was going to suggest the opera, but it doesn't appear that the Opera Company of Philadelphia has any performaces in January (bad luck, it's a lovely experience): http://www.operaphilly.com/

If you are interested in classical music, maybe a performace at the Kimmel Theater would appeal: http://www.kimmelcenter.org/

Both venues are an easy walk from your hotel. In fact, you are situated in the very center of the city (next to City Hall), so there is very little that isn't within walking distance for you!

How about a horse-drawn carriage ride? Seinfeld ruined the romance of this for me, but I'm sure many women would enjoy it! More details can be found here:

http://www.phillytour.com/category.asp?ID=1

On second though, perhaps a carriage ride in January isn't the smartest idea!