Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Reviews of restaurants and attractions -- how long do they stay up?

Reviews of restaurants and attractions -- how long do they stay up?

Old Nov 17th, 2008, 03:37 PM
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,829
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Reviews of restaurants and attractions -- how long do they stay up?

Posted this over at "Forums Help" with no reply so far, so I'll try here (some of the places I've posted about were at European destinations).

Have recently posted several reviews/ratings of tourist sights and restaurants at the Fodor's website.

Was wondering how long they stay up. If they stay up for a really long time (many years, forever), I'll gladly do more. If they get cleared off after a certain time, I probably won't continue.

Any site moderators know the answer? Much obliged.
bachslunch is offline  
Old Nov 17th, 2008, 04:23 PM
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 57,890
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
If you mean a forum like this - everything stays - but falls further and further to the bottom as new threads are answered.

If you post a review of a specific restaurant with the name in the title it will come up if someone searches for that exact name.

Otherwise it will keep dropping once people stop responding.
nytraveler is offline  
Old Nov 17th, 2008, 04:39 PM
  #3  
yk
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 24,523
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No... I think bachslunch is referring to the reviews under

Destinations

Say if you pick a city under destinations, eg Paris, then click on restaurants you get a list of Fodors recommended restaurants.

If you click on an actual restaurant name, you can see individual posters' reviews of these restaurants.

Same for tourist sights under Destinations.
yk is offline  
Old Nov 17th, 2008, 04:44 PM
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,829
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the response. I probably wasn't very clear -- I'm not talking about forum posts.

When you go to a destination entry at Fodor's website (New York, let's say), there are categories called "Sights," "Restaurants," and the like, which reproduce the guidebook entries. It's possible to do "Member Reviews and Ratings" for these, and I've posted reviews/ratings under the two categories mentioned here for some of the cities where I've traveled.

What I probably need to do is hear back from a site moderator on this, but so far none has responded. Anyone?
bachslunch is offline  
Old Nov 18th, 2008, 06:13 AM
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10,210
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
They last indefinitely. They'll only be pushed down in the queue if newer reviews take their place. I can't say that will always be our practice, but for now, that's what it is.
doug_stallings is offline  
Old Nov 18th, 2008, 06:35 AM
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,804
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi bachslunch--the plan now is to keep them up. We are a few weeks away from launching our "new" forums; part of that redesign includes the addition of member profiles. Those profiles will display links to the restaurants, hotels, and sights that you have reviewed.

About two years ago, we started requiring registration for reviews to be posted. We removed reviews posted before we required registration.

Thank you for posting reviews by the way---we really appreciate it and your thoughts about the properties we currently include in our guides is really helpful.

We'd like to add a function in the future that allows you to make your own recommendations and review properties that we don't currently include.

Thanks again--
Katie_H is offline  
Old Nov 18th, 2008, 06:58 AM
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,050
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The reviews should be dated.
Anonymous is offline  
Old Nov 18th, 2008, 07:10 AM
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,804
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi Anonymous---do you mean in the new profiles? The member reviews have dates currently.
Katie_H is offline  
Old Nov 18th, 2008, 07:14 AM
  #9  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,804
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Anonymous--do you mean our reviews?
Katie_H is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Original Poster
Forum
Replies
Last Post
toseeornottosee
United States
15
Apr 24th, 2012 06:03 PM
OO
United States
37
Oct 8th, 2006 01:29 PM
happytrailstoyou
United States
57
Oct 6th, 2006 04:03 PM
fiona
Europe
10
Nov 18th, 2003 08:30 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Do Not Sell My Personal Information


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:50 AM.