Reload this Page >

Renaissance Hotel on Priceline

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 26th, 2003, 11:47 PM
Petal

I bid 140.00 on Priceline and was accepted for the Renaissance Hotel in Times Square. I am totally pleased, altho I will always wonder had I bid less would I have still gotten the Renaissance. On line, the best price for my time frame of 7 days was a range of 229-289. (most days were 289) I tried a bid yesterday of 100.00 for a 4 star and it wasn't accepted. This is my first time in New York and I chose this area because we plan to see several plays in the evening and don't want to worry about transportation in a strange city. thanks for all the advice I've read from these posts.

Old Jan 27th, 2003, 04:09 AM
x

"Petal"? No, "Peddle" is more like it, as in "peddle your wares". When will Fodors catch onto what these PL plants are up to?

Old Jan 27th, 2003, 05:06 AM
xxx

I just posted this on your other post, but will repeat it here.
Yesterday I booked the Renaissance for a stay in May. Although I too found the lowest price on their internet site to be $229, I called them and got a rate of $155. Considering they have guaranteed me a "deluxe king" room, and I can cancel up to 4 PM day of arrival, I think I got a much better deal. I would not risk losing the entire stay if I need to cancel and May is a long way off. Who knows what could happen. The extra $15 a night will buy me a lot of peace of mind. Not to mention that I will still have all my money for another four months before I go instead of paying for it now. Isn't that the way Priceline works?

Old Jan 27th, 2003, 01:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Petal, bidding less may not necessarily have gotten you a different hotel. You can learn how much Priceline paid for this room (how much you overbid) from the taxes they charged you. If you go to "Bidding Tips" on BiddingForTravel you can find a link to my webpage for calculating the room rate from the tax.