Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Relocating to Tampa area (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/relocating-to-tampa-area-608195/)

bredo Apr 16th, 2006 06:34 PM

Relocating to Tampa area

My wife and I are considering a move to the Tampa area from Houston, TX. We will be visiting in a couple of months, but I'm trying to do a little research so we can focus on a few specific areas before going. We are both about 30 years old and will be starting a family soon. We would prefer a safe, clean area and don't really want to be in a "transitional" neighborhood. We like to go out and hit the occasional pub, but we don't have to be in the middle of all of the action.

I'm an outside salesman so the commute isn't as important as it would be to most people, but nobody likes to spend half of their life in traffic. It would be nice to have reasonable access to the city and beaches.

Are there any suggestions as to where in Tampa we should be looking? I've been told New Tampa, Brandon and Seminole Heights are areas we should look at. I don't know a whole lot about them so any help would be appreciated. We're certainly open to any other suggestions as well. Thanks.

joan Apr 17th, 2006 06:01 AM

My daughter lives near USF, and she complains bitterly about the traffic in New Tampa & Brandon areas. Although there is an interstate passing thru these areas, it goes down to stop-and-go every day! The areas you mention are all growing, with many new developments (in transition I guess).