Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   relocating to.... (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/relocating-to-625325/)

Selah Jun 21st, 2006 11:11 AM

relocating to....

My husband, 3 children (middle and early high school) and I are looking to relocate to an area of the country where we can afford to buy a single family 4 BR 2 bath house for around 250K or below. Currently we live in a DC suburb and can only afford to rent due to some past financial difficulties that are now resolved. We feel like we will never be able to buy a single family house here and are interested in relocating to a lower cost of living area. He is a mechanical engineer and I am a nurse. Can anybody recommend to us areas of the country where people are friendly and welcoming to newcomers that would have employment possibilities and enable us to finally buy a home!!! Prefer a more moderate climate, not huge extremes either way. Thanks.

No_name Jun 21st, 2006 11:18 AM

Mid florida is very affordable and many of the hospitals ae in desperate need of nurses.

ewt Jun 21st, 2006 11:23 AM

If you move soon, the Raleigh/Durham area would be a good option. You are only 4 hours away from DC if you want to visit friends or old haunts. Plus, its a nice area for families. Again, you would have to get in now because costs are rising a bit, but I see things on the home buyers channel all the time for under 250K. Some of them are even brand new.

travel_addict Jun 21st, 2006 12:15 PM

Hi Selah,