Questions about searching for hotels...

Jul 13th, 2010, 03:13 PM
Original Poster

Questions about searching for hotels...

As many of you know, I work in the travel technology industry and I am active in a large industry organization that looks at and develops standards for the industry.
I am working on a project using statistical search data and thought I would post the question to the folks on this board, just in case I have missed anything.
Currently there are 16 items on the list!
The question:
When you are shopping for hotels (no matter how you do it) is there specific search criteria you wish you could use to narrow down the choices?
Many such 'qualifiers' currently exist... for example, you can search for hotels in New York City that offer a fitness center.
Other qualifiers are not universally used, such as "Guest refrigerator in room".
This one may or may not be important to you.
Can you think of any search criteria you would like to be available for use?
Thanks so much!!!
Jul 13th, 2010, 03:22 PM

People often ask for a combination of basic simple things like: I want a hotel with a pool, free internet and breakfast. Rooms with 2 beds and hotels that have rooms with 2 doubles vs 2 queens is a biggy for families.
Jul 13th, 2010, 03:34 PM
Original Poster

What about you Mclaurie? What do you look for?
There are currently about 25 common qualifiers that we can identify via existing automation (travel agency and consumer website).
Bedding type is tricky, but a good addition to the list.
This information is generally sent interactively by the hotel companies because they feel the answer depends on inventory availability... vs something like a fitness center, which is always there, always available.
I think it is a big request, personally and appreciate the validation.
Jul 13th, 2010, 03:42 PM