Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Priceline? (Help?) (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/priceline-help-348780/)

Lilley Aug 17th, 2003 08:46 AM

Priceline? (Help?)

I was wondering, for those who used Priceline to book the Marriott Harbor Beach Resort, when you arrived at the hotel, were you able to get an oceanview room? I've never used Priceline before, so I'm a bit lost? Also, when you place a bid, will Priceline come back with the name of the resort if your bid is accepted?

hilda Aug 17th, 2003 08:53 AM

Priceline will tell you the name of the hotel when the transaction goes through. I doubt you will get oceanview rooms. I have had great luck with Priceline. Check bidding for travel to see which hotels you are likely to get.

anna_k Aug 17th, 2003 12:45 PM

http://pub210.ezboard.com/bpricelineandexpediabidding

or www.biddingfortravel.com

Lilley Aug 17th, 2003 01:12 PM

Thanks, I'll check out bidding for travel website.

Andrew Aug 17th, 2003 04:56 PM

Don't expect to get an oceanview room if you use Priceline. You should expect a clean, comfortable room, probably at a very good price (if you don't bid too high). The people who paid twice as much as you paid will most likely get the oceanview rooms. It's possible you can get a view room if you use Priceline but don't count on it.

Andrew

WillTravel Aug 17th, 2003 08:36 PM

Sometimes, if you are very lucky and ask nicely, you can get an oceanview room. Sometimes you can get an oceanview room if you are willing to pay an upgrade fee. If this is what you really want, try the first and be prepared for the second.

Lilley Aug 21st, 2003 03:21 PM

I Hope we can get lucky and get an oceanview room. Any other words of advice. It'll be off season, maybe we will luck up if the hotel isn't to crowded?

ziggy Aug 22nd, 2003 01:46 AM