Reload this Page >

Portland, Oregon---Highlights?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 26th, 2002, 03:53 AM
Peter

What are some must see and do places in Portland, Oregon?

Old Jun 26th, 2002, 07:42 AM
Wendy

My favorites are the Portland Art Museum, Borders Book Store, shopping-lunch or coktails-dinner in the Pearl District, and wandering around the downtown area in general.

Old Jun 26th, 2002, 07:54 AM
Don

Powell's Books, the Rose Gardens on the west side of town, and the Cadillac Cafe (yummy French toast with blueberries and hazelnuts) for breakfast.

Old Jun 26th, 2002, 08:12 AM
Wendy

Peter, I mis-typed! I meant Powell's book store (as Don mentioned) not Borders!! Powell's is the 2nd largest book store in the US and is fantastic!

Old Jun 26th, 2002, 08:14 AM
Peter

Thanks to you both for the Powell's Book Store tip---I'm a librarian, so this is right up my alley.

Old Jun 26th, 2002, 08:29 AM
Julie

Japanese Garden, Saturday Market, outdoor concerts at the Zoo. I loved the 24-hour Church of Elvis, but I think it is closed now.

Old Jun 26th, 2002, 08:29 AM
Portland

I live in Portland and I am sooo lucky to be here! I love it. Powells is downtown Portland on 10th and Burnside, plan to spend several hours here, then explore the rest of downtown. Don't forget about Powells Travel bookstore at Pioneer Square. Take time out to do a day trip up the Scenic Highway/Columbia Gorge and check out all the waterfalls. Another fav of mine is the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry (OMSI).

Old Jun 26th, 2002, 09:42 AM
Kathleen

The new Chinese Garden (in the Chinatown area)is beautiful. Don't miss tea in the teahouse - try something exotic (wait staff is very helpful.) Also - note that on "First Thursdays" of each month Pearl District galleries are open in the evening.

Old Jun 26th, 2002, 09:56 AM
Mia

Peter:

Poking around the Hawthorne neghborhood and strolling the waterfront are both enjoyable activities.