Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Plan B. New York City with a little Philly on the side

Old May 2nd, 2010, 08:42 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The first time I planned a big trip to Paris it was cancelled due to events surrounding 9/11. The second time, Eyjafjallajokull left us in a cloud of ash. And while we did make it for a long weekend in the summer of 2003 the trip is a blur. We are planning to reschedule for November this year--consider yourself warned and plan accordingly. ;-)

I’ve had some experience trip planning on the fly. When DH was stationed tdy two summers Lakenheath, England everything was last minute. Our shift from Paris to NYC was a little dizzying but thanks to the wonderful trip reports on this forum I was able to put together a successful trip very last minute. In particular I’d like to thank LowCountryIslander, Starrs, and bk123. This trip would not have been the success it was without your forum input--thank you!

Getting There:

We took Amtrak’s NE Regional train from BWI to Penn Station. Travel time approximately 2.5 hours. Purchased multi-city tickets on the Amtrak website, picked up the tickets at the BWI station kiosk. Tickets for two from BWI to NYP were $171; from NYP to Philadelphia, $84; from Philadelphia to BWI, 73.80 for a grand total of $329.40.

Hotel: