Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   place to stay in DC (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/place-to-stay-in-dc-463221/)

bjigles Jul 28th, 2004 06:22 PM

place to stay in DC

Hello all, I am heading to DC at the end of september and am searching for an inexpensive place to stay that is close to all the touristy stuff, I would love to be able to walk to monuments, but I am cool with the metro, any recomendations?

E Jul 28th, 2004 07:58 PM

Don't mean to be difficult, but what do you mean by "inexpensive"? Knowing your budget for the hotel would really help.

bjigles Jul 28th, 2004 09:02 PM

It is my first time out of the box - let me be more specific: looking for nightly rate under $100, possibly a bed and breakfast, the more unique the better

tracys2cents Jul 28th, 2004 09:10 PM

Not a B&B or unique, but the Holiday Inns sometimes have great weekend rates via weekendwebsaver.com
The discounts don't usually pop up til about 2 wks before travel time.

Also check out
www.inndc.com - great location!

E Jul 29th, 2004 08:25 AM

Check out the Kalorama Guest House--you should be able to Google it. They have rooms both with private and shared bath in a nice, leafy neighborhood. The only drawback is that it's a bit of a hike to the (Dupont or Woodley Park) Metro, although a pretty hike. I'm sure it's in your price range.

I would also suggest you look into Jury's Hotel in Dupont Circle--I have found $99 rates there before, and it's a nice hotel in a great location. The Radisson Barcelo, a favorite among Fodorites, also sometimes offers $99 rates, but keep in mind that DC's hotel tax will push both of these out of your range.