Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Philadelphia Living (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/philadelphia-living-644550/)

TKT Sep 5th, 2006 06:16 PM

Philadelphia Living

I'm considering a move from Boston to Philadelphia.

I want to live in Center City or an adjacent area.

I'm looking at Condos, willing to spend around 350. Ideally two bedrooms or 1 with a large lving room.

I would like to be in a neighborhood with professionals over 40 and for a female being able to walk safely at night is very important.

any suggestions?

ebdlemond02 Sep 7th, 2006 05:22 AM

So funny since I live in center city Philadelphia and would love to Boston. Unfortunately my career keeps me here. I am a 45 year femal professional who lives alone in a very "up and coming neighborhood". I am able to safely walk to all the upscale and trendy areas in 10 minutes. I am very passionate about Philadelphia and would be happy to give you my opinions on where to go and where not to go. I could even refer you to some good realtors. Currently $350 for 2 bedroom condo will probably be in one of these up and coming neighborhoods. Let me know if you would like to discuss this very important move in further detail.
Good Luck! I think you will love Philly!!!

TKT Sep 7th, 2006 06:28 AM

Thanks for the reply. I have spent a lot of time there and really enjoy it.
I'm just looking for the names of some of the neighborhoods that would meet my description. Old City? Society Hill?
Italian Markets? Chinatown? Rittenhouse? Queen Village? Any others I don't know about.

Boston is a wonderful place, but I want to live downtown and I just can't afford it here.

ebdlemond02 Sep 7th, 2006 09:33 AM

Okay..here is my opinion. I think I am pretty much on target since I have lived here my entire life but only in center city for the last 2 years.