Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Parental Consent form? (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/parental-consent-form-1017763/)

pinkflame1001 Jun 21st, 2014 05:07 PM

Parental Consent form?

So in July of this year, my aunt is going to be flying with me to Florida from New Jersey. I know I need to have my birth certificate, but do I need some sort of a parental consent form as well? This is my first time flying, so I really don't know what I'm suppose to be doing exactly. Thanks

nytraveler Jun 21st, 2014 05:12 PM

It would help to know how old you are. Are you sure you're young enough to fly without photo ID?

pinkflame1001 Jun 21st, 2014 05:19 PM

Yes, I'm 15

IMDonehere Jun 21st, 2014 08:14 PM

First call the airline and find out what is an acceptable form of ID.

Does NJ issue a photo ID?

pinkflame1001 Jun 21st, 2014 10:30 PM

I don't think so, but I'll call the Airline tomorrow and see what I need

Hobbert Jun 22nd, 2014 03:31 AM

New Jersey's Motor Vehicle Commission issues non drivers' ID cards to people 14 and over. Just get one of those.

HappyTrvlr Jun 22nd, 2014 06:31 AM

A school photo ID works at some airlports.

nytraveler Jun 22nd, 2014 09:44 AM

I would also have a letter - signed by both parents and notarized stating

1) that you you are allowed to travel where and for how long

2) that your aunt can maked medical decisions for you if necessary

janisj Jun 22nd, 2014 12:54 PM

Per the TSA website - minors don't require photo ID's of any sort. Your birth certificate will be more than sufficient.

>><blue>Q. What ID is needed for minors traveling domestically/internationally?