Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Outerbanks w/kids (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/outerbanks-w-kids-511106/)

tjw61 Mar 10th, 2005 05:43 AM

Outerbanks w/kids

Hi,
We're going to the Outerbanks the week of April 11th. We have 2 kids, girl 12, boy 9. Any suggestions on thing to do that time of year? Restaurants they might like?
Thanks.

tcapp Mar 10th, 2005 03:10 PM

ttt

tjw61 Mar 13th, 2005 06:17 AM

"ttt"

What's this?

Julz Mar 13th, 2005 06:54 AM

I'm not an expert, since I've only been to Outer Banks a few times, and the last time was 4 years ago. But, I thought it was a gorgeous place to go. I think the different areas of OBX are probably very different though. The upper areas - Kitty Hawk, Duck, seemed to be busier - more restaurants, things to do, etc. to choose from. We stayed down on the Hatteras island direction. We had beach house in Avon, which seemed to be the busiest town there, and even that wasn't too busy. (See my earlier post about NC beach question!) We didn't take the kids when we stayed in Avon, but did take them when we stayed in Buxton. Truthfully, there are not a whole lot of activities - no amusement parks, boardwalk, theme restaurants or any of that kind of thing. But, that said, my kids loved it. They spent a lot of time in the pool, of course, but they basically spent the whole day running up and down the beach - playing with some $4.99 velcro ball toss game. They built huge sand castles, took boogie boards into the surf, collected shells, wrote messages in the sand, then took pictures of it for their friends. At night, there were even bonfires. (Not sure if that is allowed now, but we had no problems then.) Once, we took them crabbing, and to play minature golf and get ice cream cones in Buxton, and we went shopping in some of the great souvenier stores that they have there, but that was