Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Oregon Coast (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/oregon-coast-767252/)

texan01 Feb 12th, 2009 05:45 PM

Oregon Coast

I'm an amateur landscape photographer and am interested in doing some shooting on the coast. I'm trying to determine the best time, May or September, to visit to enjoy the best weather (which I understand is always unpredictable) yet avoid the tourist crush. From what I understand, May can be cool and rainy still, but the flowers and waterfalls will be best. Is this true or will September also be good for the waterfalls as well? I'm planning on being there for about a week and travelng from around Tillamook to Bandon. Any suggestions for the best time as mentioned?

Fodorite018 Feb 12th, 2009 06:05 PM

May is definitely better for waterfalls, but yes, it will most likely be rainy too. Both May and Sept are not too bad as far as crowds, although Sept is still considered high season since it typically is nice weather. As long as you don't mind getting rained on, May is fine. The coast during a storm is actually really interesting, so that might sway you as well since it is more dramatic.

Andrew Feb 12th, 2009 06:22 PM

Don't know if you just want to shoot waterfalls...but Cannon Beach is worth adding to your itinerary if you can. Very iconic for Oregon. Haystack rock is one of the most photographed sites in Oregon.

And for waterfalls in general, it would be a shame not to take a spin through the Columbia River Gorge with all of its spectacular waterfalls (which should still be photogenic unless we have a drought this spring).