Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Opinion please on Scotty's Restaurant Buffet in Kauai (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/opinion-please-on-scotty-s-restaurant-buffet-in-kauai-622719/)

OlgaM Jun 11th, 2006 07:20 PM

Opinion please on Scotty's Restaurant Buffet in Kauai
 
If my notes serve me correctly, Aunt M loves Scotty's and the view.

I am making dinner reservations for each of the 5 nights we are in South Kauai in August. I went to Scotty's website to find out if I can make a reservation (since ribs are after 4pm) and saw that the restaurant has a Sunday afternoon BBQ Buffet - my husband would be in heaven.

Well I guess that depends on how the buffet is. Any one try it?

Thank you.

Olga

iamq Jun 11th, 2006 09:04 PM

We ate at the buffet and were not impressed. It was not good. Could've been an off day. I'd be willing to go back and try the regular menu though just because auntie's tastebuds are rarely wrong.

-Bill

auntiemaria Jun 12th, 2006 08:54 AM

While I love the food at Scotty's, and recommend it often, I am not impressed with the buffet.

OlgaM: your husband will be happy with the size of the portions on their regular menu, definitely! 8-)

OlgaM Jun 12th, 2006 04:12 PM

Thanks for the insight. I'll make a reservation, but not for the Sunday buffet.

Can't wait to eat my way thru Hawaii with the help of you all ! :)

mahoneycutt Jun 12th, 2006 05:24 PM


Didn't have the buffet, but we ate dinner at Scotty's twice while in Kauai. I thought the food was great (but perhaps not "Hawaiian" if that's your goal). The view was as good as the food.

Mike Honeycutt

Budman Jun 12th, 2006 05:37 PM

The view at Scotty's is superb. The BBQ? -- Well, I'm used to Memphis, hickory smoked, moist BBQ. We just had lunch, BBQ sandwich, which was kinda dry. Maybe it was a bad day. ((b))

sjsharky Jul 5th, 2006 10:07 AM

Sorry OlgaM, Scotty's doesn't have the buffet anymore. They have their regular menu 7 days a week now. AuntyM is right about the size of the portions though, you can eat fo days! And yov can get ribs at lunch

spartanap Jul 5th, 2006 11:15 AM

We ate at Scotty's last Saturday and it was very good. Had a 15 minute wait with no reservation. The view was excellent.

We live near Kansas City, so we know good BBQ when we taste it!:-)

OlgaM Aug 19th, 2006 06:41 PM

We stopped at Scotty's on our way to the north shore with all luggage in our little convertible. Scotty's has alot of parking out back, so we were able to feel comfortable with our car just below our outside seating. And, ribs are served all the time now, not only after 4pm.

The chili was great too!


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:22 PM.