Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Ok, I Want To Move To Spain.... (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/ok-i-want-to-move-to-spain-481963/)

ninalou Oct 22nd, 2004 03:54 PM

Ok, I Want To Move To Spain....

...at least for a little while. I am an American and (obviously) a non-EU-er...terribly unfortunate. I do not want to live here in the US anymore for political, social and philosophical reasons. I haven't for years now, but have been daunted by the ability to make a living in Spain.

My story is (you may skip this part if you deem it trivial):
I grew up in the DC area, moved to NYC (all by myself) at the ripe suburban-girl age of 17 to model...ich. Needless to say, being a model, for me, was empty, depressing, and ridiculous. I got an undergrad degree at Hunter College in NYC in Anthropology...studied film and Spanish also. Got an internship that led to full-time employment with the documentary film team who created Brother's Keeper, Paradise Lost, and the new Metallica doc. A great job! Bartended weekends for extra dough. Moved to New Orleans in 2000...I was sick of NYC after 10 years...to write my own documentary about the red-light district once here called Storyville....and bartended. Met and married my true love (he's a jazz musician who wants to live in Spain too). Now, I am working on a Master's in Spanish here in New Orleans and still bartending. I have been to Portugal, Italy & London for at least 2 weeks at each spot as a traveler...stayed with friends or rented a house. Just came back from a honeymoon in México....Playa del Carmen and Punta Maroma in Quintana Roo (Yucatan Peninsula).