Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Obligated to buy wines when tasting? (Sonoma Valley)

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 3rd, 2006, 07:37 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm visiting Sonoma Valley in a few weeks, and this is my first time to wine country. I've read that most of the wines at the wineries are available in the towns at a better price. And my friendly sales person at the wine store where I'm a regular metioned that most of the are cheaper at his store than at the winery and I don't have to worry about getting them back on the plane.

So when you go to a tasting, is there an obligation to purchase the wine? I'm especially wondering about the by appointment only places. Just not sure what the etiquitte is for this.

Thanks!
Old Sep 3rd, 2006, 08:08 PM

We returned from a trip to Sonoma 2 weeks ago. There is no pressure to buy the wine; some of the wineries offer discounts or take off the price of the tasting if you do buy a bottle.
I am not sure about appointment only places.
It must be nice to live in a place where you can get wine; everything in PA is controlled by the state.
Old Sep 4th, 2006, 04:00 AM

You shouldn't have to buy wine at a place you are paying to taste--which I think most are now.
And now, with the new regs, you can't carry it on. But wineries will have good styro boxes to pack wines safely for checking through.
The other point to think about is that the wines you taste may not be available outside a very limited release and you will want to buy them.
Old Sep 4th, 2006, 06:19 AM

Hi Yellowjacket,

No, no obligation to purchase, which is why the wineries charge for tasting. Charges will vary, just ask in advance. Yes, they will credit the tasting cost toward a purchase.