Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   NYC -- Sports Museum of America -- any opinions? (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/nyc-sports-museum-of-america-any-opinions-451499/)

Samsaf Nov 14th, 2008 09:54 AM

NYC -- Sports Museum of America -- any opinions?
 
We are planning our 3-day trip to NYC (first week of December), and I found some info on the Sports Museum of America. We were thinking about going there (after a morning at Ellis Island).

It looks like it's a interactive sports museum.

Any opinions on this museum? Thanks!

Samsaf Nov 14th, 2008 07:32 PM

Nobody's been there?

ellenem Nov 14th, 2008 07:33 PM

It just opened in May . . .

Aduchamp1 Nov 14th, 2008 08:41 PM

I have not been to the Sports Museum and I am sports fan. But if I had three days in NYC that Museum is one of the last places I would go.

sf7307 Nov 14th, 2008 09:04 PM

Aduchamp, have you been there and decided it isn't worth your time, or are you just expressing an opinion about how you'd like to (or not to) spend your time?

sf7307 Nov 14th, 2008 09:05 PM

Oops, I just reread your post and saw that you haven't been there.

skatedancer Nov 15th, 2008 09:38 AM

well, i'm not even that big a sports fan, but I think this museum looks really cool!

nytraveler Nov 15th, 2008 10:43 AM

Only know one person who has been there - a massive sports fan - and said it was not much. He's been to the real museums - baseball in Cooperstown, basketball etc - which have thousands of exhibits going back to early years.

He said - not worth the time.

Samsaf Nov 15th, 2008 11:41 AM

Thanks -- that's the information we wanted to know.

ellenem Nov 15th, 2008 01:46 PM

Looks like it's a little bit of everything, which might disappoint fans of a particular sport--might be just right for kids concentration levels.

Gekko Nov 15th, 2008 01:58 PM

I live here ... I love museums and am a member of half a dozen ... I read both New York and TONY every week ... I've never heard of this "sports museum."


charade25 Nov 15th, 2008 06:19 PM

I live here and went to the Sports Museum recently. I'm a sports fan and found it interesting, but I don't think it's worth going out of your way for it if you're only visiting for 3 days.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:39 PM.