Search

NYC Marriage Proposal!!

Search this Thread

Old Jun 9th, 2006, 07:15 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
NYC Marriage Proposal!!

Hey all!,

I'm new to Fodor's boards but have been a closet reader for a while. I need everyone's help with my plan to propose to my girlfriend of 6 years in July in NYC. She is spending a few months up there this summer while I am working away at home. On July 6, I am flying up there to surprise her. She doesn't think I'm coming until the evening of the 7th.

Anyway, my plan was to surprise her by showing up at her apartment in a limo. We'd then to go Top of the Rock to watch the sunset and where I'll probably pop the question. Then, we'd go off to Tavern on the Green for a late dinner and some dancing and then maybe a nightcap at the new rooftop bar, 230 Fifth. I've never been to any of these places but have read good things about all of them.

The only problem is that she went to Top of the Rock yesterday. I didn't think she knew about it but some friends ended up taking her. I've already booked the tickets for that but I guess I can change if anyone has any great ideas.

Let me know what you think! Thanks!!
Old Jun 9th, 2006, 07:17 AM

check out the thread NYC to get engaged. There are some great suggestions on there!
Old Jun 9th, 2006, 07:20 AM

How wonderful...Those are all great places.
But as soon as you show up with the limo she will know something's up. If you really want it to be a surprise....
How about getting her friends to get her over to the Today Show at Rockefeller Center. You might be able to set it up where you propose outside when they do the weather report or one of their outdoor features.... You will need a big sign, and can just show up and pop the question!!!
Old Jun 9th, 2006, 07:52 AM

Do you like art or museums? Many people get engaged at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, for example at the rooftop sculpture garden, which has a bar, or in the room with the Temple of Dendur.