Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   NYC: Coat Question (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/nyc-coat-question-757618/)

LosAngeles90004 Dec 20th, 2008 03:06 PM

NYC: Coat Question

I am planning a trip to NYC in mid-March with my husband and child and have a coat question. I live in Los Angeles where real coats are hardly ever worn so I am not good at judging what I will need for different temperatures and weather conditions. The average in NYC in March is a high of 48, a low of 32 with 4 inches of rain.

I am worried that if I take a rain coat I will freeze and if I take a wool coat I will get soaked and if I take both I will not have room for anything else. I will be buying a new coat for this so if someone knows of something just right, please suggest it. I am early 30s and like to be as stylish as possible.

Suggestions??

gb944 Dec 20th, 2008 03:25 PM

Buy a black raincoat with a zipout lining and you will fit right in.

If it gets too cold, you can always wear an sweater underneath.

janisj Dec 20th, 2008 03:39 PM

Absolutely - a nice looking raincoat or trench w/ a zip or button out liner. Be sure the liner also includes the sleeves. Some are more like vests and your arem can freeze. But a good zip out liner will be as warm as most winter coats. And it really is a 3-season coat you can even use in California.

NewbE Dec 20th, 2008 03:53 PM

I have a quilted down knee length coat that has a water-resistant finish. It isn't truly waterproof, but it's plenty good enough for a rainy day in the city, and I find it to be warmer than a wool-lined raincoat. Garnet Hill has something similar right now; mine is Anne Klein and I bought it at some dept. store several years ago.

nytraveler Dec 20th, 2008 04:15 PM