Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Northern California 7 day trip - suggestions please!

Old Aug 24th, 2017, 08:31 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi.. It's my first time posting here but I have read great suggestions offered in other topics!
I will be travelling with my wife, both in upper 20's to San Francisco on Friday, September 22nd night and flying out of SFO on Saturday, September 30th at 11PM. I am planning to cover Coastal highway, Yosemite and San Francisco during that time. I have a rough itenary in my mind which I wanted to share with you guys and get some suggestions on how to make it even better.

09/22 - Land at 10PM. Rent a car and stay the night in San Jose
09/23 - Visit Santa Cruz, Carmel, Monterey, Point Lobos and stay the night in Pacific Grove
09/24 - Try to cover the rest of Big Sur area which is closed but I really want to see McWay Falls and maybe other great areas on this day and stay the night in Fresno.
09/25 - Visit Yosemite ( enter the park from south entrance and tour valley)
09/26 - Visit Yosemite (Glacier point and other hikes? Can I also do Tioga Pass on this day)
09/27 - Yosemite and maybe Lake Tahoe? (If I am done with Yosemite on 2 complete days, I want to visit Lake Tahoe for a day)
09/28 - SF(will still have the car, so maybe can do Muir Woods and then drop off the car)
09/29 - SF
09/30 - SF ( Leaving at 11PM so will have most of the day)

Regarding Yosemite Lodging, I want to stay inside the park and they have unheated canvas tents available in Half Dome, waiting for heated ones to be available preferably wooden cabins. Talked to representatives and they suggested to keep looking as there will be more cancellations and they have alot of canvas tents open. Any ideas on some hikes would be helpful. Any chance of seeing waterfalls? Really want to do some stargazing.. I read some tours are available but nothing is showing for September yet.