Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   North Carolina at Thanksgiving (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/north-carolina-at-thanksgiving-204432/)

Laureen Nov 5th, 2001 06:43 AM

North Carolina at Thanksgiving

I'm a new resident of North Carolina and haven't had a chance to explore the state. Any advice on short trips a friend and I might make during Thanksgiving holidays? We'll have roughly 4 days, and I'd appreciate suggestions for mountain, beach, or city sights that are worth seeing. (Yes, the time is limited!)

ncgrrl Nov 5th, 2001 06:57 AM

If you haven't been to Biltmore Estate in Asheville, I recommend it. It's all decorated for Christmas and Asheville has other tourist attractions. I think the Asheville tourism website is www.exploreasheville.com. Biltmore's is www.biltmore.com. <BR> <BR>Other options would be Old Salem in Winston-Salem (though I'm not sure there is four days worth of stuff to do in WS), Pinehurst (if you have golfers in your group), or Wilmington (USS North Carolina). <BR> <BR>You haven't mentioned where you live in NC, but but it might be a good time to visit the capital city of Raleigh (stay away from Crabtree Valley mall and you should be okay traffic wise over that weekend) or the largest city of Charlotte. And holidays are the best time to visit Chapel Hill when the students are away.

Arabella Nov 5th, 2001 08:14 AM

Ncgrrl has, once again, provided lots of great info on North Carolina. <BR> <BR>You might want to spend two days in Asheville, then head to the Cashiers/Highlands. The area is beautiful and offers a wide variety of waterfalls. Lots of great B&Bs and some pretty interesting shopping and restaurants in Highlands.

AnotherNCgal Nov 5th, 2001 08:28 AM