Search

New York in July

Search this Thread

Old Feb 25th, 2013, 03:42 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New York in July

Hello! I am taking my mother on a trip to New York City in July (yes, I know that it will be hot and humid, but I'm a teacher and this is the only time that I have). Her main interest is going to the theater. I would also like to get to Ellis Island, the Statue of Liberty and Central Park as well.

1. Where is the best place to stay in order to hit all of these places on a limited amount of time (4 days)? Our budget is about $200 per night for lodging.

2. For those in the know, should I buy our play tickets ahead of time or is it best to buy discounted tickets once we're there?

Thank you for any advice that you can give. I want this to be a special trip for my mother. My father normally plans their vacations and she doesn't get much voice in where they go. When I asked her if she could choose any place, her immediate response was NYC. I just want her to have a great time!
Old Feb 25th, 2013, 03:58 PM

NYC is steamy and crowded in the summer months. Stay hydrated! You'll have plenty of time to visit Ellis Island and Liberty Island and also Central Park during a 4 day stay.

Buy your theatre tix before you get there. It would be awful to stand in the Tickets booth line in Times Square in the heat and humidity only to find that your preferred show is not discounted or has sold out. Check Broadwaybox.com for discounts.

Your bigger challenge will be your hotel budget. That's rather low. You might try bidding on priceline for rooms for 2 people only but you'd be sharing a bed with mom. Also, check on quikbook.com and their Secret Sale hotels. Of course you'll check on travlocity and expedia too. You can book something now, if you find something cancellable and decent in your budge,t and then continue to look for bargains closer to your travel dates. Travelzoo.com has discounts for about a month ahead.