Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   NASCAR is Coming !!! Run for the hills, or beach or where ? (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/nascar-is-coming-run-for-the-hills-or-beach-or-where-618457/)

SAnParis May 25th, 2006 11:42 AM

NASCAR is Coming !!! Run for the hills, or beach or where ?

Being a loyal Charlotte resident, I of course leave town when the NASCAR hordes arrive. I am headed to the Beach tomorrow until Wednesday. Where do other Charlotteans & residents of towns w/NASCAR facilities go when the NASCAR hordes descend on their place of residence ?

AnnMarie_C May 25th, 2006 11:48 AM

If I were a resident of Charlotte I would head straight for the track! but you run....save yourself.... I'll have to settle for the sofa. ;-)

SAnParis May 25th, 2006 11:52 AM

Actually that race will probably start before I leave tomorrow & I'll be able to see the finish when I return on Wednesday, talk about a long race...

AnnMarie_C May 25th, 2006 11:58 AM

Charlotte is a great track--one of my faves! Having sat in race traffic in other cities I understand how you must feel about the hordes descending on your city. Enjoy a great weekend! :-)

SAnParis May 25th, 2006 12:05 PM

Thanks very much, we will...everyone here has been laughing about all the traffic all day, it is comical...they need to hand out free GPS units for anyway entering the state this week.

GoTravel May 25th, 2006 12:06 PM

Charleston of course!

beach_dweller May 26th, 2006 06:08 AM

SAnParis,

as a Charlottean, I expect that you know to avoid Myrtle Beach this weekend . . . unless you want to witness the unofficial ninja bike racing that Bikefest generates for about 3 straight days on virtually all of our roads. :-)

SAnParis May 26th, 2006 06:34 AM