Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   My husband can’t understand and doesn’t agree with me traveling Along. (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/my-husband-cant-understand-and-doesnt-agree-with-me-traveling-along-1642253/)

claudia0124 Dec 25th, 2017 01:23 PM

My husband can’t understand and doesn’t agree with me traveling Along.

How can I make my husband understand that I want to travel along just because it something I’ve always wanted to do ? I’ve been marry for 11 years (2 kids) I’ve always have a passion for traveling but my husband not so much. I’ve been planing a trip to Europe for the last two years. 7 days to 10 days the most. I brought it up to my husband the other day and it was a big discussion. He got very upset and said that my priorities are in the wrong place, why I want to go along,? He doesn’t understand that it just something I want to do. Every time I bring it up her reacts the same way and even said “No” which made me feel very angry. This is a marriage not a dictatorship. I love him but can’t make him understand that I really want to do this. How do I proceed?

janisj Dec 25th, 2017 01:30 PM

I assume you mean alon<B>E</B> . . . This is between you and your husband.

annhig Dec 25th, 2017 01:39 PM

well, this is something you have to work out for yourself. how important is it to you? important enough to risk your marriage which is otherwise working well? or is it underlining fault-lines which already exist in other areas? How does he react when you disagree with him about other things? Does he get to do things by himself that you aren't keen on? And what about finances? Who would care for the kids while you were away?

If he's not keen for you to go alone, what about going as a family?

Good luck in sorting this out in a way that suits you both.

Dukey1 Dec 25th, 2017 01:46 PM