Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Moving to Tampa, what's a good area for an apartment?

Old May 10th, 2004, 09:32 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My 22-year-old son wants to move south and is considering Tampa. He is doing some research on apartments, jobs, etc., but I thought I'd try to get some feedback from anyone who lives there or is familiar with the city. What's a good area (safe!) to look for an apartment? I don't know exactly how much he'll be looking to spend, but it won't be a high amount. The apartment wouldn't need to be fancy, I'm more interested in the location. Do most apartments include utilities in the cost? Any info would be appreciated. Thanks!
Old May 11th, 2004, 10:05 AM
Original Poster

ttt, anyone?
Old May 11th, 2004, 11:14 AM

what does he plan on doing?..it would be hard to answer your ??'s without that info..I'm no expert but a little more info would be required...it could be a big commute or wrong area for him..what are his interests..the info you gave is too vague..
Old May 11th, 2004, 12:49 PM

I suggest that you check with the City of Tampa Police Department and ask them for statistics for different crimes. This would tell you what sort of crime is where, something that changes, making it hard to give you accurate advice.

Tampa used to be a cheap real estate market but real estate is rising in value rapidly. St. Petersburg is 20-30 minutes from Tampa and some people commute, living in St. Pete where housing is more affordable, with the exception of course of beach property which is high. But there are many options in Tampa that are reasonable.