Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Moving to chicago . . . where to live . . . best hospital to work at???

Old Feb 27th, 2007, 02:20 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am planning on moving to chicago and need all the help I can get. First I would like to know the best place to live for a young couple mod priced. Also I would like any info on the hospitals. I am a pediatric nurse andwould kile to know which hospital I should apply to and any reputations of hospitals???
Old Feb 28th, 2007, 04:51 AM

Northwestern Memorial
Children's Memorial Hospital
Loyola in Maywood, Illinois
University of Chicago

These are all very reputable hospitals.
I would suggest going to their websites.

Good luck!
Old Feb 28th, 2007, 05:02 AM

My recommendation: find a short-term rental! The variety of neighborhoods (both urban and suburban) in Chicago is immense. Until you are actually living there, it will be hard to determine what's the right fit for you. There are great neighborhoods if you love city living, beautiful inner-ring suburbs if you prefer a slightly slower pace, and, of course, the immense Chicago suburbs surrounding the city. If you don't want to do a short-term rental, try to visit the city for several weekends to explore your options. Good luck!!
Old Feb 28th, 2007, 05:35 AM

Childrens Memorial is the primo hospital for kids in the entire region. Unbelievable reputation as does Shriners Hospital.

The nice thing about Childrens is that it is located in the Lincoln Park neighborhood of Chicago which is the "place to be" for young professionals.
Old Feb 28th, 2007, 06:11 AM

Children's Hospital is currently in Lincoln Park but will be moving to Streeterville, near Northwestern Memorial and Prentis Hospital by 2012.
Old Feb 28th, 2007, 06:56 AM