Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Mother looking to relocate to Charlottesville, VA

Aug 4th, 2010, 01:40 AM
Original Poster

I am a single mother of a special needs child looking to relocate to the Charlottesville, VA area. I am wanting to know what their public school system is like especially their special ed programs and the high achievers programs. I am also wondering what the cost of living is like there compared to other cities of its size. Such as rent as I am not looking to buy right away. I would be coming from Nebraska. Also if anyone has any knowledge of the employment rate there in the city. I have a paralegal degree, experience in the trucking industry and also hold NE certificates for CNA and Medaid. Any information that would be useful for me would greatly be appreciated. Where I am at in Nebraska the public school system has nothing to offer, the city is stagnant in job openings, pay scale is very low, has nothing to offer as far as entertainment and outdoor recreation. Charlottesville looks like a nice community with much to offer???
Aug 4th, 2010, 04:38 AM

This is going to sound mean, but it isn't meant to be. I just don't understand why you have settled on Charlottesville without knowing the answers to any of these questions. I can give you some general guidance and hope that more knowledgeable people will chime in.

Charlottesville is a nice, rapidly growing community still somewhat dominated by the university, which I expect is its largest employer. The climate is nicer than Nebraska, but housing is likely to be more expensive, and you can tell something about pay scales by looking on the local classifieds, at the University's website where employment opportunities will be listed, and at Craigslist.