Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Most scenic ferry options, Victoria (or Port Angeles) to Seattle?

Old Aug 7th, 2010, 12:08 PM
Original Poster

We need to get from Victoria, BC to Seattle on a Sunday in September. We'd really like to do the trip by ferry. As it stands right now, we'll have a car with us.

I've searched the forums and I'm just not sure the information I'm looking at is up-to-date. Do we have to take the ferry over to Port Angeles, and then take another ferry to Seattle? Is there nothing that goes straight from Victoria to Seattle except passenger ferries? What's the best, most scenic way to do all this?

Thanks!
Old Aug 7th, 2010, 12:52 PM

I'm no expert, but I think you've got it correct. The Victoria Clipper is the boat that runs directly Victoria to Seattle, but it's passenger only.
Old Aug 7th, 2010, 01:27 PM

You have three choices -

1. WA State ferry from Sidney to Anacortes via the San Juan Islands. Very scenic, you should get reservations. From Anacortes allow around 90 min. to Seattle via SR 20 and I-5.

2. BC ferry from Swartz Bay to Tsawwassen, which is around 10 min. north of the border. Very scenic also, but you'll then have to go through US border formalities, which can take anywhere from 15 min. to 2 hours depending on the day/time. Then it's around 2 hours drive down I-5 to Seattle.

3. Coho ferry (private) from Victoria (Inner Harbour) to Port Angeles, then drive to either Bainbridge Island or Kingston for WA State ferry to downtown Seattle or Edmonds respectively. If Kingston > Edmonds then another 20-30 min. on the freeway to Seattle.