Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Michigan to New York Fall Foliage Experience (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/michigan-to-new-york-fall-foliage-experience-1692042/)

asadjahangir Oct 14th, 2020 01:29 PM

Michigan to New York Fall Foliage Experience

I am starting a road trip tomorrow (15 Oct) from Michigan to New York to experience Fall Foliage which is at peak this week.

If you are interested in joining, send me a message.

--Asad

Brief Into: I am an IT professional. I have a masters degree from Carnegie Mellon university and I have previously worked for companies like IBM and Oracle. Love travelling and trying local foods.

J62 Oct 14th, 2020 04:18 PM

In NY your best bets for foliage will be south of I90 corridor. Points further north are already past peak, with much of the sugar maples leaves already dropped. Still plenty of deeper reds, bronze, browns but very little of the brilliant red/orange left up there.

Higher elevations in the Catskills likely the same.

Fra_Diavolo Oct 14th, 2020 07:16 PM

Please note that Michigan is on the NY State quarantine list. Please stay home. We don't want you here. Fines up to $2,000 if you're caught, which I hope you will!

andyg5056 Oct 15th, 2020 12:44 PM

Originally Posted by Fra_Diavolo (Post 17167971)
Please note that Michigan is on the NY State quarantine list...

Just wondering why is that so? Chicago has total of 26 states on the list, including neighbors like Indiana & Wisconsin. But Michigan is NOT one of them. About a Month ago or so, just before Wisconsin got on that list, we had traveled to Michigan Upper Peninsula for a long weekend, And I thought that all those COVID-19 restrictions and precautions up there were more strict and better obeyed then the one in Chicago...

J62 Oct 16th, 2020 06:35 AM

Originally Posted by andyg5056 (Post 17168211)