Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Bidding for hotel rooms, information for a novice!

Old Jan 10th, 2003, 12:26 AM
kerry

Can anyone give me any hints, tips or pitfalls when using a website like Priceline? I am a complete beginner. I have investigated the websites and the rates achieved are amazing compared to the hotel's own website rates.

Thank you.

Old Jan 10th, 2003, 03:39 AM
gail

The 2 main things to remember are that you do not get to select the exact hotel - merely a city or an area within a city. That also means you do not get to choose room type - suite, bedding, view; rooms are designed for 2 people, so can be problematic if traveling with kids. Sometimes hotels can honor special requests if you call hotel directly or request at check-in, but there is no requirement that they do.

The second important factor is that once you bid and it is accepted, you own the room. If you change your plans, have a family emergency, drop dead - anything - it is non-cancellable/non-refundable.

If you can live with these restrictions, you can get great deals on hotels.

Old Jan 10th, 2003, 03:39 AM
Jen

For a complete education on using Priceline, go to www.biddingfortravel.com, read their FAQ and other stuff. They even have lists of the hotels that people have won in various cities, with the dates and prices.

Old Jan 10th, 2003, 04:09 AM
x

Do you have a question about your modem and call the phone company to ask? Why not ask your questions on BFT or PL? If you've "investigated the websites" as you say, you are well aware of the appropriate place for asking questions making this is a planted post advertising BFT.

Maybe Hotwire, Expedia, travelocity, hotel.com need to come over here and clutter up the forum with their ads too? BFT must be hurting for revenue.

Old Jan 10th, 2003, 05:08 AM
Mike