East Coast areas that have best hiking and history...a little bit of both

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 17th, 2011, 06:55 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My husband and I are considering a trip to the east coast. We LOVE hiking and history. I'm a photographer and enjoy taking pics of both nature and unique scenery (old bars, old churches, old architecture, libraries, etc.) We are not interested in New York (been there before....amazing but looking for more green and antique feel.) Would love your opinions. We are mid 30's, hike just about anything (hope to maybe do 1 or 2 hikes and have the rest of the time to visit towns and less crowded historic areas.) Hubby loves the water (small beaches or coastal views.) We plan on going late May-early June of 2012 for about 10 days and don't mind driving some distances to cover what we can.Thanks so much for any advice
Old Sep 17th, 2011, 07:07 AM

We visited Martha's Vineyard for the first time this July, and were impressed with how much beautiful shoreline there is, and places to bike/hike. It sure has the history aspect covered, too. We stayed at the Harborside Inn in Edgartown, which housing is in whaling captain's mansions. Very nice. We also had a direct view of the harbor.

We did not have a car, and were glad of it. The bus system is sufficient, frequent and inexpensive. We took it one day to Oak Bluffs and back. Another day to Aquinnah to see the beautiful beaches and cliffs.

One afternoon we rented bikes and rode all over, including to South Beach. The Winnetu Resort is there. We had considered staying at Winnetu, but were glad we didn't, because it is rather remote and did not look like much.

Bike paths are conveniently located, so we did not have to share the narrow roads with cars too much. Although drivers seemed to be very observant of bikers and were polite about giving us space.