Maui - Kayak Tour for Kids?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 22nd, 2004, 05:11 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, looking for recommendations/insight on taking my children, ages 7 and 11 on a Kayak Tour. Both the 11 yr old and I have some paddling experience (whitewater rafting, canoeing), my husband and 7 year old do not. Maui Eco-Tours has one tour "Totally Turtles" which accepts all ages. Anyone done this? How rough is it/how hard is it to paddle? Both children are decent swimmers.
Old Jun 22nd, 2004, 05:34 AM

I can't remember any specific tours. But there are many. Most that I know of are start in the makena area, some start furhter north in kihei. If you are on the ocean in early morning the water is very calm and you could paddle for miles. any south maui tour will be an easy skill level and fine for you kids.

recently some people posted on this board about La Peruse Bay being closed to tour groups this was a popluar place to see sea turtles. but now it is protected.
Old Jun 23rd, 2004, 11:35 AM