Los Angeles weekend trip - need ideas

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 6th, 2007, 03:53 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi! I need some ideas for my upcoming LA weekend trip. It will be 2 30-something chicks going, staying at Elan Modern (right. Want ideas especially for drinks/lunches/dinners that would be fun/unique and keep us off the roads for too long if at all (I'm a nervous driver!).
Things I know we want to hit include
Grove/Farmer's Market
Hollywood & Highland
In N Out Burger, don't know which one

Places within walking distance, esp for late evening drinks, are especially wanted, as I'd like to avoid driving after drinking-we're both lightweights! Also, what's reasonable to expect for eating/drinking in terms of $$$?

Thanks for ANY advice!
Old Mar 6th, 2007, 08:49 PM

Although not within a walking distance from Elan Modern, but not too far either, Lola's, the martini bar on Fairfax Avenue would be my no. 1 destination for drinks. I would go "early," i.e., before 8:00 P.M., so that I can waltz right in, have their world-famous green apple or chocolate martini, maybe some cheese and fruit, and leave before the crowds roll in, but then it has been quite a few years since my 30-something (he-he) and the crowds and the accompanying noise bother me. But, it may be just what you are looking for and that is also fine. They also serve dinner at Lola's and I understand that it is pretty good. Another one of my favorites for drinks is Maribell's on Sunset Strip. They also serve dinner. Again, remember the age difference between me and you, so keep that in mind.

The Grove is a fun place to hang out and there is a French restaurant right by the entrance (I am totally blanking here), which serves not half-bad mussels in white wine sauce and some other stuff, which you can pick at while watching the crowds rush in and out. All other restaurants are chains, like Cheesecake Factory,Marmalade Cafe, etc. Nothing exceptional.